OwnerUnlocked

Bobtail vs RTS Financial: which is better for a new business? (2026)

8.0/10
Bobtail
Negotiable

Choose Bobtail if: Owner-operators wanting capped rates and a 90-day trial

Skip it if: You want non-recourse protection or support outside weekday business hours.

Visit Bobtail
6.3/10
RTS Financial
Price on request

Choose RTS Financial if: Small fleets wanting factoring, fuel card and Spanish help

Skip it if: You need published rates or confirmed non-recourse terms before applying.

Visit RTS Financial

Quick verdict

Higher OwnerUnlocked scoreBobtail (8 vs 6.3)
Lower starting priceTie (Negotiable vs Price on request)
Better public ratingsBobtail (4.7 vs 4.5 / 5)
More Spanish helpTie (Spanish support vs Spanish support)

Side by side

8.0/10BobtailNegotiable Visit
6.3/10RTS FinancialPrice on request Visit
Best forOwner-operators wanting capped rates and a 90-day trialSmall fleets wanting factoring, fuel card and Spanish help
Skip ifYou want non-recourse protection or support outside weekday business hours.You need published rates or confirmed non-recourse terms before applying.
Free plan or trial90 daysNo
SpanishSpanish supportSpanish support
SupportPhone 410-204-2084, email, in-app; M-F 9-5 ETPhone, email, web form; after-hours and holidays
Mobile appYesYes
Public rating4.8/5 (App Store, 468)4.8/5 (App Store, 14,161)
RateNegotiable, max 3.24%Not published
AdvanceInvoice minus flat fee; no reservesOver 90%; rest minus fee after broker pays
RecourseRecourse only (per Bobtail blog)Not published
Contract90-day trial, then long-term contractNot published
MinimumsNo monthly minimumsNot published
Funding speedSame day if sent by 11am ET, M-FSame day / within 24h, incl. bank holidays
Fuel advanceNot publishedAdvances offered to clients; terms not published
Broker credit checksYes, on every broker; check in appYes, broker credit ratings in RTS app
Fuel cardBobtail Mastercard fleet card; no setup or monthly feesYes; incl. self-funded card regardless of credit
New authoritiesNot publishedNot published
Top pros
  • Rate capped at 3.24%, no hidden fees or monthly minimums
  • Cancel anytime in the first 90 days without penalty
  • Advances over 90% of each invoice, funded within 24 hours
  • Funding and support include after-hours and bank holidays
Watch out for
  • No non-recourse contract; relies on broker bond and shipper claims
  • Long-term contract starts after the trial; length not published
  • Factoring rate not published; calculator shows only an estimate
  • Recourse terms, contract length and minimums not disclosed online

Bobtail

  • Rate capped at 3.24%, no hidden fees or monthly minimums
  • Cancel anytime in the first 90 days without penalty
  • Help offered in English, Spanish and Punjabi
  • Choose which brokers to factor and bill the rest yourself
  • No non-recourse contract; relies on broker bond and shipper claims
  • Long-term contract starts after the trial; length not published
  • Support hours only Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm ET

RTS Financial

  • Advances over 90% of each invoice, funded within 24 hours
  • Funding and support include after-hours and bank holidays
  • Fuel card with claimed average 45¢/gal savings at 4,000+ stations
  • Advertises Spanish- and Punjabi-speaking support
  • Factoring rate not published; calculator shows only an estimate
  • Recourse terms, contract length and minimums not disclosed online
  • Website does not say whether brand-new authorities qualify

Also worth a look

Questions

Is Bobtail or RTS Financial cheaper?

Their published starting prices can't be compared directly (Negotiable vs Price on request). Ask both for a quote.

Which has better reviews?

Bobtail, with 4.7/5 on average across the public ratings we checked.

Which one helps in Spanish?

Bobtail: Spanish support. RTS Financial: Spanish support.

Can I switch from one to the other later?

Yes, though switching mid-year takes some setup. Export your records before you cancel, and check for annual contracts or cancellation notice periods.

Facts from each company's own pages and public rating sites, checked Oct 4, 2026. How we rate.